Fall 2010 Semester Countdown #2: UConn Wins Big East Soccer Tournamnet Quarterfinal vs. Depaul 2-0


Game #2 in our countdown of the best five games of Fall 2010 semester is the Big East Tournament quarterfinal between the Huskies and the DePaul Blue Demons.

Here is a summary from the original post

Well, the game was delayed until Friday, after it was scheduled to start on Thursday, a day after the other Big East first round games. But that didn’t matter. It got off, and went well. We won 2-0. And I was cheering incredibly enthusiastically. So now I have no voice almost. Oh well. And a bunch of people thought I was drunk. I have not drank any alcohol in my entire life. Just putting that out there. And I have a feeling I am going to end up on Youtube now. We will see. If so, I’ll be sure to post the footage, however hilarious/embarrassing it may be. And one guy (who looked about 45, and I believe was the father of one of the high schoolers who were basically cheering me for cheering) first pointed to a cup of hot chocolate that had been stuck in the fence, and said “did you drink from that?”. I told him no. He told me “What did you drink?” I told him the only think I drank was a bottle of water. He said “Well whatever that is, I want some.” It was water, not alcohol. Why must everyone assume I am drunk just because I am cheering incredibly rowdily and enthusiastically? Anyway, just some of the quotes I threw out there were referring to the chubby DePaul goalkeeper as “a Teletubby”, “A pumpkin Teletubby”, and “Tinky Winky’s Husband”. (It is a well-known fact that the purple Tellitubby is gay, see this article from BBC) I also hollered random names of foods, like “Look, cake. Go eat it!” and screamed “GO UCONN!” repeatedly. And there was that routine where I said “Hey Goalie, I have to take a Mamadou”, then proceeded to pantomine going to the bathroom, before mock wiping my (clothed) buttocks with a glove as if it were toilet paper and pretending to throw it on the field. Never before has “Mamadou” been used as a euphemism for a bowel movement. Boy, it was fun. But I have no voice. It was worth it all though. Completely and absolutely. GO HUSKIES! Now for the ratings. (And these will count because although it was a conference tournament, it was designated as a “campus sites” game rather than us hosting the entire tournament.)

 

All in all, it was a great atmosphere here at Morrone in spite of the postponement. Unfortunately, I was not able to attend the NCAA Tournament game against Brown as it was during Thanksgiving Break, and due to the power failure, I couldn’t even watch a webstream or hear a radio broadcast. And we lost on penalty kicks (again). Oh well. I’m looking forward to another great season with the Goal Patrol next year.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

